Soul Excursion Vol 53 – George Michael

Best “One-Way Love” Lyricist in My Lifetime

GM Website

GM Website

Funny how most of his lyrics don’t apply to any of my experiences.

It’s the perfect marriage of tone, execution, and instruments…music heaven.

Can’t get with it? then, get out of the way, please. Thank you.

I own a few albums so there are many more lovely tracks to adore.


the last two lines of this track…aaaah the melody…the delivery…I play this over and over just for the delivery of those 2 lines.

Cowboys and Angels

When your heart’s in someone else’s hands
Monkey see and monkey do
Their wish is your command
You’re not to blame
Everyone’s the same

All you do is love and love is all you do
I should know by now, the way I fought for you
You’re not to blame
Everyone’s the same

I know you think that you’re safe
Mister
Harmless deception
That keeps love at bay
It’s the ones who resist that we most want to kiss
Wouldn’t you say?
Cowboys and angels
They all have the time for you
Why should I imagine
That I’d be a find for you
Why should I imagine
That I’d have something to say
But that scar on your face
That beautiful face of yours
In your heart there’s a trace
Of someone before

When your heart’s in someone else’s plans
Things you say and things you do
They don’t understand
It’s such a shame
Always ends the same

You can call it love but I don’t think it’s true
You should know by now
I’m not the boy for you
You’re not to blame
Always ends the same

I know you think that you’re safe
Sister
Harmless affection
That keeps things this way
It’s the ones who persist for the sake of a kiss
Who will pay
Cowboys and angels
They all take a shine to you
Why should I imagine that I was designed for you
Why should I believe
That you would stay

But that scar on your face
That beautiful face of yours
Don’t you think that I know
They’ve hurt you before

Take this man to your bed
Maybe his hands will help you to forget
Please be stronger than your past
The future may still give you a chance


 

downloadgm

Kissing a Fool

You are far, When I could have been your star, 
You listened to people, 
Who scared you to death, and from my heart, 
Strange that you were strong enough, 
To even make a start, 
But you’ll never find Peace of mind, 
Til you listen to your heart, 

People, You can never change the way they feel, 
Better let them do just what they will, 
For they will, If you let them, 
Steal your heart from you, 
People, Will always make a lover feel a fool, 
But you knew I loved you, 
We could have shown them all, 
We should have seen love through, 

Fooled me with the tears in your eyes, 
Covered me with kisses and lies, 
So goodbye, But please don’t take my heart, 

You are far, I’m never gonna be your star, 
I’ll pick up the pieces 
And mend my heart, 
Maybe I’ll be strong enough, 
I don’t know where to start, 
But I’ll never find 
Peace of mind, While I listen to my heart, 

People, You can never change the way they feel, 
Better let them do just what they will, 
For they will, If you let them, Steal your heart, 

And people, Will always make a lover feel a fool, 
But you knew I loved you, 
We could have shown them all, 

But remember this, Every other kiss, 
That you ever give Long as we both live 
When you need the hand of another man, 
One you really can surrender with, 
I will wait for you, 
Like I always do, 
There’s something there, 
That can’t compete with any other, 

You are far, 
When I could have been your star, 
You listened to people, 
Who scared you to death, and from my heart, 
Strange that I was wrong enough, 
To think you’d love me too. 
I guess you were kissing a fool, 
You must have been kissing a fool


 Thank You for being you George Michael!

 

Leave a Reply

